Holte re-elected to lead Wisconsin Farm Bureau

Holte 2014

The Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation wrapped-up its 95th annual meeting in Wisconsin Dells on Monday.  President Jim Holte was very happy with the attendance this year especially the nearly 500 young farmers participating.  “We have a growing, dynamic, forward-looking organization with a lot of young people, you can’t do much better than that.”

Looking ahead, Holte says the organization has a number of legislative issues to work on including high-capacity wells and other ground water issues and how to maintain and upgrade rural roads without breaking the bank. At the national level he sees immigration and the need for agriculture to have a reliable work force available as a top issue along with trying to convince the EPA to withdraw the Waters of the U.S. proposed regulations.  Holte talks about the organization:

Immediately following the adjournment of the annual meeting, the WFBF board held its reorganizational meeting; Jim Holte of Elk Mound was re-elected to serve a third term as president. Dick Gorder of Mineral Point was re-elected vice president.

Arch Morton of Janesville was elected to a three-year term as the new District 2 director, representing Columbia, Dane, Dodge, Green, Rock and Sauk counties.

Joe Bragger, a dairy farmer from Independence was reelected to a three-year term on the board representing District 4; Buffalo, Eau Claire, Jackson, La Crosse, Monroe and Trempealeau counties.

Rosie Lisowe, a dairy farmer from Chilton was reelected to a three-year term representing District 6; Brown, Calumet, Door, Kewaunee, Manitowoc and Sheboygan counties.

Rosalie Geiger of Reedsville in Manitowoc County was elected to a one-year term as the new Women’s Committee chair…

Andrea Brossard of Burnett was elected to a one-year term as chair of the Young Farmer and Agriculturist Committee.

In addition to Holte and Gorder, other Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation Board Directors who are currently serving their three-year term are Wayne Staidl of Peshtigo, Don Radtke of Merrill, Dave Daniels of Union Grove and Kevin Krentz of Berlin.

Award winners at the 95th annual Wisconsin Farm Bureau Federation meeting include:

  • Mark Mayer, Fredonia; Outstanding Young Farmer and Agriculturalist
  • Ethan Giebel, Mauston; Young Farmer and Agriculturalist Discussion Meet
  • Nate Zindars, Ripon: Collegiate Discussion Meet
  • Dustin Williams, South Wayne: Young Farmer and Agriculturalist Excellence in Agriculture Award. Dustin is an ag ed teacher at Blackhawk Technical College.
  • Jack Meffert, Waunaukee; Distinguished Service to Farm Bureau Award
  • Rick Stadelmann; Distinguished Service to Agriculture Award for his years of service to the Wisconsin Towns Association.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!

Brownfield Ag News