Wildfire danger risk level designations raised for all 75 Arkansas counties

The Arkansas Department of Agriculture has increased the wildfire danger risk level designations for all 75 counties over the past two weeks. 

Twelve counties in NW Arkansas have been elevated to the high-risk level and the remaining counties were rated at moderate risk for wildfire danger. 

Fifty-three counties have been placed under a burn ban. Burn bans primarily prohibit activities that involve an open flame. This includes fireworks, campfires, trash burning, open flame grilling, and prescribed or controlled burns.

The Forestry Division maintains a county-by-county Wildfire Danger map with four risk levels: low, moderate, high, and extreme. Risk levels are determined by drought status and long-term weather forecasts and are defined by how easily fires can start and how hard they are to contain.

The Wildfire Danger map can be found at

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!

Brownfield Ag News