Fall River County declared disaster area because of drought

Fall River County, South Dakota, has been designated a primary natural disaster area because of recent drought conditions. Producers in that county, as well as in Custer and Oglala Lakota Counties, and three other contiguous Nebraska and Wyoming counties, can get USDA emergency loans. The loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including replacing equipment or livestock, or refinancing certain debts.

USDA’s Farm Service Agency has other recovery programs that do not require a disaster declaration, including: Emergency Assistance for Livestock, Honeybees and Farm-Raised Fish Program; Emergency Conservation Program; Livestock Forage Disaster Program; Livestock Indemnity Program; Operating and Farm Ownership Loans; and the Tree Assistance Program.

Additional information is online.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!

Brownfield Ag News