House Ag Subcommittees name leaders

The House Republican and Democrat Agriculture Subcommittees have announced their ranking members and Chairs for the 117th Congress.

Repblican ranking members include Minnesota’s Michelle Fischbach, Nebraska’s Don Bacon, Indiana’s Jim Baird, South Dakota’s Dusty Johnson, Georgia’s Austin Scott and California’s Doug LaMalfa.

Fischbach will serve as the Ranking Member on Commodity Exchanges, Energy and Credit, Research and Development, and Broadband. Bacon will serve as the Ranking Member on Nutrition, Oversight, and Department Operations. Baird will serve as the Ranking Member on Biotechnology, Horticulture, and Research. Johnson will serve as Ranking Member on Livestock and Foreign Agriculture. 

Democrat Subcommittee Chairs include California’s Jim Costa, Illinois’ Cheri Bustos, Virginia’s Abigail Spanberger, Connecticut’s Jahana Hayes, New York’s Antonio Delgado, and Stacey Plaskett of the Virgin Islands.

Bustos will Chair the Subcommittee on General farm Commodities and Risk Management.

Republican Subcommittee leader Glenn Thompson of Pennsylvania said rural America has great challenges and opportunities ahead and is looking forward to tackling them with this ‘talented group’.

Democrat Subcommittee leader Scott said each of the Subcommittee Chairs are well suited to take on the tasks facing their committees and looks forward to working with them to serve consumers and rural communities.

Add Comment

Your email address will not be published.


Stay Up to Date

Subscribe for our newsletter today and receive relevant news straight to your inbox!

Brownfield Ag News